Editors picks: Nini Khatiblou

nini_2We are super excited this week to have some insider style secrets to share from Nini Khatiblou, Fashion Editor at Good Housekeeping magazine. Nini offered to not only pick and style her top three pieces from Kettlewell’s new collection, but also to answer the burning questions from us all (well, from me on your behalf, anyway. Let’s hope that your burning questions are about the same) about what to wear right now.

Nini’s top picks

Cotton and lace camisole in raspberry I love the concept of layering, it just makes any outfit so much more interesting and instantly creates an ‘undone’ vibe which is very modern. A camisole is a super-useful wardrobe essential, and I love the pretty lace detailing on this one. I’ll be wearing mine with contrasting boyfriend jeans and a chunky knit cardigan for the perfect thrown together weekend look.

cotton&lace-cami

Tasha top in pebble grey A loose-fitting top is the ultimate staple – it works on all sizes, shapes and ages. I’d wear a pebble grey version with black skinny jeans and chunky black boots. For a cool fashion finish, I’d tuck the top in at the front and leave the rest hanging loose.

tasha_top_2

Cashmere gauze stole in silver A luxury scarf is a timeless, chic accessory that comes in handy all year round, so it’s worth investing in a good quality one like this light cashmere style. I’ll wear mine in a very simple way – draped over a fitted top and skinny leg trousers with ballet pumps and oversized sunglasses for a glam off-duty look.

gauze_stole_3

Style secrets for 2015

Looks for summer As a big fan of winter coats and boots, I’m normally more excited about A/W trends, but I genuinely can’t wait to start experimenting with all the big trends for this Spring/Summer. The 70s trend is by far the ‘big one’ of the season and off the back of that comes a lot of suede fringing which I will definitely be investing in

Key pieces and investment buys My mum has very kindly given me her black suede fringed cape from the 80s, which I can’t wait to wear with cowboy boots! I’ll stick to the high street for some cropped flares, scour vintage shops for printed blouses and go all out on fringed outerwear – it was big news at the Burberry A/W show so I know it’ll last more than a season. Denim is also big news for S/S, now being showcased in lots of different colours, shapes and varieties. From bleached to ripped to embellished, it’s no longer about wearing a safe pair of jeans. Luckily, the high street is going to be full of designer-inspired styles so I’ll be sure to stock up on a couple of bargain pairs that’ll see me through the season.

01-seventies_trend

A changing colour palette Most shops are already dominated by all things 70s and there definitely seems to be a popular colour palette of creams, mustard, tan, terracotta and bright blue denim. It certainly makes a welcome change from black and grey – although I can’t say it’s going to be an easy one for Winters like me!

02-season_colours_3

Wardrobe favourites to transcend fashion For the last couple of years I’ve pretty much lived in dungarees – I must have about 10 different pairs! I know at first glance they seem a bit scary, but I can honestly say they’re the most versatile item of clothing I have ever owned and love that they add a fun twist to any outfit. I have a fitted black pair and the same in white – both from H&M – that I always go back to when I’m stuck on what to wear. I’m also a lifelong fan of the Breton top – again, I have many variations but mostly black and white or navy and white and they seem to work with any outfit. My ultimate failsafe winter outfit is a Breton top, rolled up jeans and black patent pointed pumps. Finally, I love the power of a winter coat – no matter how plain your outfit is underneath, a statement coat can instantly transform the look. I spend most weekends rifling through vintage shops and car boot sales to find that something special, and my vintage MaxMara coat is a particular favourite.

03-dungarees03-fail-safe

The skinny on skinnies Sadly, it does seem like the pause button has been pressed on skinny jeans for the moment – the good news is that denim, in particular jeans, have never been more varied and adventurous in their styles. This season it’s all about the girlfriend jean – a more fitted and flattering take on last year’s baggy boyfriend jeans and, of course, the flares. Luckily these now come in all shapes and sizes – if you’re tall, the classic flare will look great and if you’re petite, go for the new cropped flare which creates a much neater shape.

04-jeans_2

Style icons Based purely on their sense of style I would say Alexa Chung and Diane Kruger are two of my favourite. I love Alexa’s unique spin on everything and she appeals to my polished side, while Diane appeals to my more chaotic side. Someone once described Diane Kruger as looking like she’d raided a charity shop, found all the best things and then decided to wear them all in one go. I LOVE that attitude to fashion!

05-alexa-chung 05-diane-kruger

 

For details of all clothes, please visit Kettlewell Colours on Polyvore

Leave a Reply

