A blog post from Melissa

Welcome to 14723738_1174553582625438_226582490054131712_n1my first blog post – a chance not only to share with you what goes on behind the scenes at Kettlewell (whether it’s shooting new collection in South Africa or model casting in London) but to explore what colour means to me and how it has come to play such a big role in my life.

It’s been 12 years since John and I set up Kettlewell, and it’s no exaggeration to say that colour is what drives my passion for the business and inspires everything I do, from the clothes I put on in the morning (even if it’s just a flash of a lace camisole top beneath a neutral merino cardigan) to the way I furnish and decorate my home. It aims to be a celebration of colour and its power to energise, uplift and transform you into the very best version of you. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to introduce more of it into your life – if you haven’t already – and to embrace it in your wardrobe.

Somehow it seems fitting that we’ve chosen autumn to kick off this blog, not least because it’s the most vibrant and flamboyant time of year – the show-off season, as I like to think of it – when the trees turn from green to a glorious kaleidoscope of oranges, yellows, flashes of crimson, russet, bronze, conker browns and burnt coppers, and colour drenches your senses. I might be a spring person and these shades might never make it into my wardrobe – I’m all about warm, bright and fresh colours like mint green, flamingo pink and turquoise – but autumn is a highlight of the calendar for me, Nature’s last hurrah before we move into winter.

It is also a great time for a city break, which neatly leads me on to a little travel secret John and I discovered recently when we visited a knitwear and jersey factory in Portugal to check on quality control and look at some new fabrics for Spring/Summer 2017. Lisbon gets all the press, but if you’ve been before you’ll appreciate what I mean when I say that Porto, Portugal’s second largest city, is one of Europe’s hidden gems – a medieval heart with a modern buzz and lots of breathtaking gold-leaf-laced churches. Not to mention a certain tipple. While we were there, we also happened across a rather fabulous little shop that sold blankets and handbags – all made from pure wool – in a rainbow of colours. From deep teal purses to lime-green handbags, it was the sort of place that you might go hunting for a navy handbag but come out carrying a scarlet one. Or a tangerine blanket you had no idea you either wanted or needed in your life. In other words, my kind of shop.

porto_collage

My favourite picks from the autumn palette

autumn-recommendations

1 Shawl collar wrap in Cassis
2 Jersey trousers in Truffle
3 Florence scarf in Sultry Navy
4 City poncho in Dark Olive Marl
5 Cotton cashmere cardi in Nut Brown
6 Merino crossover in Moroccan Blue

2 comments

Leave a Reply

